We did get home Tuesday evening. But we’re still on the run. . .
This entry was posted
on Thursday, October 27th, 2005 at 9:09 am and is filed under cattle, animals, hills, my photos.
You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed.
You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.
October 27th, 2005 at 4:38 pm
wow!
October 27th, 2005 at 5:12 pm
Hi Moos,
Any idea why I get a pop-up for “Red Nova Health” when your blog is loading? I’ve just noticed it this week.
Glad the cows made it home!
Montannie
October 27th, 2005 at 9:50 pm
I’ve noticed pop-ups as well. My guess is it would be a Blogger.com thing. But then again, Blogger is a Google company and Google does not support pop-ups. Hhmmm…
October 28th, 2005 at 10:32 am
They are looking good. Be nice to have them where you can see what they are doing again?
We made another trip to Billings. Tried to call you. Any chance you will have any down time by Sunday evening? bonnie
October 28th, 2005 at 5:00 pm
You and Sarpy Sam have the most beautiful photos! I’m glad the cattle have made it home.
October 29th, 2005 at 11:05 am
I too was getting these pop-ups from “Red Nova” (personally I drove only a green and a white Nova myself…but that was log ago when Chevy actually had such a fine automobile), in fact several different Red Nova windows opened. (This is not good when one is on a dial-up connection that is as slow as molasses recently–try from 28 kbps to down to 19 kbps on a 56k modem. I am seroiusly considering DSL.)
My guess is that the problem is not with blogger.com as I tried David Crisp’s “Billings Blog,” which is also on blogger.com and the problem did not occur there. I think that either a bit of spyware or adware got onto Moos’ computer (possibly when she changed ISPs recently–doing the same thing I’m thinking of, going from dial-up to DSL), and since she’s been assisting the Baron out in the fields recently, she hadn’t run any anti-virus protection software until today (since the pop-ups don’t seem to be a problem on this lovely Saturday morning in Kizmai, AZ).
On an unrelated note, I spent yesterday (taking a vacation day off from work) doing repairs to my trailer. Put two panels in the wall where Sheba ripped them out (I forgot to give her the Vailum she needs to keep her calmed down–seperation anxiety–while I’m at work), replaced the insulation underneath those panels, and put a panel on the hole on the outside that she had chewed through (we’re talking metal siding here–obviously she’s not getting enough fiber and iron in her diet). So Moos, no matter how much the SugarBear may drive you loco from time to time, take solace that she could never possibly get this bad.
Kirk (I yam what “wmyam”–or at least until it changed ro “rudeg”.)
October 29th, 2005 at 11:45 am
Actually, Kirk, the problem would not be that of spy/adware on her computer as her blog isn’t hosted internally. It has got to be a file(s) within the web directory of her blog host; most likely blogger itself. I am still receiving these ‘popups’ so you may have some sort of ad blocker taking care of it. She may have run into a hacker or comment spammer. By placing a certain type of code within a comment one can create a popup as such (BTW, it wasn’t me, heh). Moos, I suggest you contact blogger about this occurance and they should be able to help you out further.
October 29th, 2005 at 1:24 pm
I’ve contacted both blogger & Red Nova - and so far Red Nova has been trying to figure it out. I’m still waiting for Blogger. . . It did start as soon as the dsl move. I was baffled (not that it takes much), since I never see any popups. I had no clue that y’all were having to deal with the thing too.
I’ve run my usual scan, a spyware blocker & ad aware software. There was nothing earth shattering to report. The couple of oddball cookies were blasted. And I’m still getting Red Nova. . . aaargh
November 1st, 2005 at 6:49 pm
Hi! I came here while investigating the Red Nova question. I’m getting the same thing intermittently on my site which is hosted by tripod but the blog is via blogger. Other people are reporting seeing the pop up as well. I wrote Tripod and of course they denied it and told me I had spyware. I don’t think so since there aren’t really any for macs. Thanks for the info though, I’ll keep poking around.
November 2nd, 2005 at 3:03 pm
Mary Beth - Thanks to Jough, it has been solved (fingers crossed). Your link didn’t work - so here’s the solution.
Did you have a nedstat counter?
November 2nd, 2005 at 10:47 pm
I do have a nedstat counter. Guess I’ll go wander around and see if any of my other nedstat counters trigger the same. I finally rooted around and deleted a lot of red nova cookies and set firefox to block cookies except from originating site. That seemed to help too. Many thanks